Top of page.

Isle of Wight Liberal Democrats

We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off

Thank you, voters, for returning LibDems across our Island on 6 May 21

Chair, Isle of Wight Liberal Democrats - Nick Stuart Nick Stuart 3 4:3

As Chair of the Isle of Wight Liberal Democrats I am immensely grateful to the Isle of Wight residents who turned out to vote in spite of the pandemic and short campaign.

We welcome the overwhelming support for the re-election of Andrew Garratt who embodies the hard working Councillor working on the issues that matter to his residents and the public on the Isle of Wight. We also saw the retirement of Reg Barry BEM whose long career in public service showcases the liberal values that underpin our party.

The Candidates team has a wide range of experience and talents and in locations across the Island we saw strong support for Candidates where we were able to deliver an excellent Liberal Democrat campaign. We were disappointed that we were unable to showcase to the public the strength of all our Candidates but we have every expectation that the groundwork has been laid for a liberal revival on the Island.

When we hear of issues ignored by Councillors, when we see a tired and failing administration, when we know of Liberal Democrat Councils across the country delivering strong administration, job creation and environmental leadership we recognise that the Island can use the local and Island wide pragmatism that we can provide.

You can read more about us, meet the team representing LibDems across the Island and join via our website

We would like your support ,and if you share our liberal values, welcome you to our party.

Nick Stuart

Chair Isle of Wight Liberal Democrats

What the Councillors & Candidates say

Brading and St Helens - John Graney John Graney 3 4:3I would like to express my thanks to everybody who voted, especially those who voted for me but not only them. Taking part in the democratic process is essential for the proper function of civil society. The right for all adults to vote was hard fought for in this country. It is not yet a hundred years old. It should not be ignored.

So thank you, all of you, for doing the right thing. As for me, I will continue to serve as a town councillor in Brading and watch developments with interest.

Brighstone, Calbourne and Shalfleet - Nick Stuart Nick Stuart 3 4:3

As the Candidate for Brighstone Calbourne and Shalfleet I was very grateful for the strong support and engagement of many residents. Although improving dramatically on our last result in central Wight second place again in this expanded ward was disappointing. I have congratulated the new Councillor and look forward to working with him on key issues.

As a new Councillor on Brighstone Parish Council and a West Wight campaigner I will continue to listen too and work with residents while speaking out on matters that affect us so please contact me on

Cowes South & Northwood - Steph Burgess Steph Burgess crop 1

Thank you to my fellow residents of Cowes South and Northwood for voting on Thursday. I have thoroughly enjoyed meeting many of you, both on the streets and on the phone. I am very much looking forward to serving my Northwood neighbours as a member of our Parish Council. Please don't hesitate to get in touch if you need support.

East Cowes - Bob Packham Bob Packham 3 4:3

I would like to thank fellow residents of East Cowes for voting for me in the County elections on May 6th.

I am looking forward to serving East Cowes residents again for another 4 years on East Cowes Town Council to get the best for our community.

Fairlee & Whippingham - Patricia Packham Patricia Packham

I would like to thank residents of Fairlee and Whippingham for voting for me in the Council elections on Thursday 6th May.

Also with the Lib Dems in our fight for a fairer Island.

Haylands and Swanmore - Malcolm Ross Malcolm Ross 2 4:3



Newport West - Bob Blezzard Bob Blezzard 2 4:3

I would like to thank the residents of Newport West who voted for me in the council election on Thursday 6th May and also my fellow candidates for a civilised contest. I would congratulate Ray Redrup on his victory and wish him well in resolving the issues in the ward which were highlighted during the campaign.

Osborne - Julie Burridge Julie Burridge crop

Thank you to everyone in Osborne who voted on the 6th, especially to those who voted for me and the LibDems in our ongoing fight for a fairer Island.

I will look forward to hearing your views and advocating for you over the coming years as we work towards the next election.

Parkhurst and Hunnyhill - Andrew Garratt Andrew Garratt 2 4:3

Thank you to everyone who voted in Parkhurst and Hunnyhill, and particularly so to those who supported me. I will continue to do my best to represent everyone in the ward.

I look forward to working with many residents over the next four years to get the best for our community.

Ryde South East - Tracy Mikich Tracy Mikich 4:3

I would like to congratulate Warren Drew on being elected to represent Ryde South East. A big thank you to all the residents who helped me identify issues, concerns and hopes for the future. All that's left to say is that this is an exciting juncture as you go forward with a new councillor and I wish you all the very best.

Sandown South - Mark Voller Mark Voller 4:3

Thank you to everyone who voted for me in Sandown South and for the many messages of support and encouragement from across the Town. Despite the efforts of the Island's excellent LibDem team we didn't quite do it this time! It was a fair and good-natured contest and I congratulate Ian Ward on his success. I and LibDem colleagues must now reflect on the result, listen to voters and non-voters and focus on ways to better represent Sandown in the future. Thank you again for giving your support.

Totland & Colwell - Mike Locke Mike Locke Colwell crop

Thank you to everyone in Totland & Colwell who voted for me and the LibDems in our fight for a fairer island. I am very proud to have been chosen for Freshwater Parish Council and Totland Parish Council. I will do my best to support you and our community while we build to the next election.

Candidates Elected

Contact details for all Councillors and IoW LibDem party officials are on this page.

Anni Adams - Cowes Town Councillor

Bob Blezzard - Havenstreet & Ashey Parish Councillor, Newchurch Paris Councillor

Steph Burgess - Northwood Parish Councillor

Andrew Garratt - IoW Councillor, Newport & Carisbrooke Community Councillor

John Graney - Brading Town Councillor

Mike Locke - Freshwater Parish Councillor, Totland Parish Councillor

Bob Packham - East Cowes Town Councillor

Malcolm Ross - Ryde Town Councillor

Nick Stuart - Brighstone Parish Councillor