We store cookies on your device to make sure we give you the best experience on this website. I'm fine with this - Turn cookies off
Switch to an accessible version of this website which is easier to read. (requires cookies)

Isle of Wight Liberal Democrats

IoW Council Elections May 2021

The Local Government Boundary Commission recommended changes to the Electoral Divisions for the May 2021 Isle of Wight Council Elections. Ward boundaries have been redrawn across our island. This means that for most of us, we'll be in a new Electoral Division and be able to vote for a Councillor to represent a new area. You can see their recommendations here, a map here and the formal Statutory Instrument here.

This change represents a major opportunity for us LibDems to get our message across to new groupings of voters and perhaps change the policital map. As the US Presidential Election showed, sometimes positive policies and campaigning can get rid of the divisive and negative.

You can see old and new divisions and search for your postcode on this interactive map. Why not try it for yourself and see which of the new Electoral Dvisions will get your vote in May 2021.

There's still time to join our list of prospective councillors for next May's election. So why not look at your new Division and think if you'd like to represent its interests in the new Council, get in touch via Nick chair@iowlibdems.org.uk or Megan secretary@iowlibdems.org.uk.

Other ways you can help fight for a fairer island are here.

Up to May 2021

At May 2021

Electoral Division Councillor Party Electoral Division IoW LibDem Candidate tba
Arreton & Newchurch Clare Mosdell Conservative
Binstead & Fishbourne John Kilpatrick Conservative Binstead & Fishbourne
Brading, St Helens & Bembridge Michael Murwill
Brian Tyndall
Brading & St Helens
Brighstone, Calbourne & Shalfleet
Carisbrooke John Hobart Conservative Carisbrooke & Gunville
Central Wight Steve Hastings Conservative Central Rural
Chale, Niton & Whitwell Dave Stewart Conservative Chale, Niton & Shorwell
Cowes Medina Lora Peacey-Wilcox Island Independent Group Cowes Medina
Cowes North Paul Bertie Conservative Cowes North
Cowes South & Norwood John Nicholson Conservative Cowes South & Norwood
Cowes West & Gurnard
East Cowes Karl Love Independent Members Group East Cowes
Fairlee & Whippingham
Freshwater North George Cameron Conservative
Freshwater North & Yarmouth
Freshwater South John Medland Island Independent Group Freshwater South
Godshill & Wroxall Rodney Downer Island Independent Group
Havenstreet, Ashey & Haylands Vanessa Churchman Conservative
Haylands & Swanmore
Lake North Tig Outlaw Conservative Lake North
Lake South Paul Brading Conservative Lake South
Mountjoy & Shide
Nettlestone & Seaview Reg Barry Liberal Democrat Nettlestone & Seaview
Newchurch, Havenstreet & Ashey
Newport Central Julie Jones-Evans Independent Members Group Newport Central
Newport East Geoff Brodie Independent Labour
Newport North Matthew Price Conservative
Newport South Shirley Smart Island Independent Group
Newport West Richard Hollis Conservative Newport West
Pan & Barton
Parkhurst Andrew Garratt Liberal Democrats
Parkhurst & Hunnyhill
Ryde Appley & Elmfield
Ryde Monktonmead
Ryde East Michael Lilley Island Independent Group
Ryde North East Wayne Whittle Conservative
Ryde North West Adrian Axford Conservative Ryde North West
Ryde South Charles Chapman Conservative
Ryde South East
Ryde West Ian Stephens Island Independent Network Ryde West
Sandown North Debbie Andre Island Independent Group Sandown North
Sandown South Ian Ward Conservative Sandown South
Shanklin Central Michael Beston Conservative Shanklin Central
Shanklin South Chris Quirk Conservative Shanklin South
Totland John Howe Island Independent Group
Totland & Colwell
Ventnor East Lord Graham Perks Independent
Ventnor West Gary Pearce Conservative
Ventnor & St Lawrence
West Wight Stuart Hutchinson Conservative
Whippingham & Osborne Stephen Hendry Conservative
Wootton Bridge Barry Abraham Conservative Wootton Bridge
Wroxall, Lowtherville & Bonchurch
Not Specified Paul Fuller JP Island Independent Group

The official IoW Council list of Councillors is here.

There are also changes to the parish electoral arrangements for Cowes, Freshwater, Newport & Carisbrooke, Ryde, Sandown, Shalfleet, Shanklin and Ventnor, Further info in section 8 of the LGBCE IoW page.